DESCENT INTO MADNESS: In Memoriam….

Posted: March 20, 2012 by The Cheap Seat Fan in Gaming, NCAA
Tags: , , , , , ,

“They don’t call in March Madness for nothing…this shit crazy. Who’s next to bite the dust?” – @RichNUPE

Well sir, it’s funny that you ask, because a mass suicide damn near happened in just the first weekend of the Descent into Madness…

So weekend one of the NCAA’s is in the book, and boy if it wasn’t as advertised, I don’t know what is. March Madness jumped the shark like it never has before, and went well past bracket-based craziness and into straight up real-life, riot in the streets pandemonium. When you watch two, #2’s fall, and a 12 vs. 13 seed game in weekend number one, you can rest assured that there are brackets not only in trash cans, but the fiery kind that the guys from Rocky and New Jack City were singing around.

It hasn't quite gotten this bad yet...well, I can only speak for myself.

This is what you sign up for when you turn that bracket in: heartache, some excitement and even a few understandable upsets. But what happened this weekend was enough to cover the next three tournaments combined. And the results from the Descentors Twitter streams prove it….

So after the dust from the fallen monuments of both fan and bracket based hopes and dreams settled, and the first weekend’s leaderboard remained, how did it shake out? Here’s how it’s both standing now and forecasting out….

“Them fools had on Russell Athletics. Shit straight from Zayre.” – @IDOKICKS

“I need some Jameson” – @IDOKICKS

“I don’t know what to do with myself now” – @mikeb43

“I’m finally able to watch basketball again since Friday…*fights back tears*” – @simply_shani (it was Sunday)

It even got this bad…

“Leaving Twitter for a while. Sorry yall.” – @Blak2TheFuture

Hell, and he’s in sixth place still. The struggle is real out here.

As for those still chasing the grail and the free CHEAP SEATS, there’s a tie at #1 between myself and Ms. Rashida Thomas of Louisiana right now, with the meat of the Sweet 16 and Elite 8 to come. Both of us have 11 of our Sweet Sixteens still standing. We’ve both picked 35 of 48 games correct so far, and also have 162 points left to gain. However, there’s a lurker in the wings, with a still intact Final Four.

The proud owner of the “I Used a Bidet Bitches” bracket, Mike Brandon of Chicago, while in sixth place currently, is projecting to end up on top in the end, due to having Kentucky, Michigan State, Ohio State and North Carolina all alive and well still, in addition to having a crucial early exit from a nearly unanimous Final Four selection out of the Western Bracket.

He capitalized where others were deeply wounded…the game which we shall not speak of within the confines of this state. On my watch at least. See you next weekend, but before we go…if you ever needed proof that the Descent Into Madness can be had a rollercoaster straight into hell pace? Here goes…

“If Mizzou loses, I will be forced to give up sports. I’ll have all the evidence I need that I am cursed.” …

Followed the next morning by….

“Guys I’m ok. Spent the whole night drinking whiskey in my draws and singing “Rolling In The Deep”, but I’m ok.” – @DaRealMattOates

Damn, damn, damn. It gets real, but even at the darkest moments of the Descent Into Madness, there is a bright side that can be found if you look hard enough…

“I really don’t care about the NCAA tournament anymore……but is kU losing? Because that I always care about.” – @CHEL_seeyaa

Yes, yes indeed. There’s always that. However, before we go: The non-sports related Tweet of the Weekend:

“I just got caught dancing while eating a chicken wing….I am now reevaluating my life and the things I stand for.” – @CHEL_seeyaa

 

You are not alone there. Bring on weekend 2…at your own risk. In between catch me on Twitter at @CheapSeatFan. I’m coping, and trying to keep my grasp on reality…and first place.

Leave a Reply

