The NFL Lockout is almost over…but is this a good thing?

Posted: July 20, 2011 by The Cheap Seat Fan in NFL
Tags: , , , , ,
I haven’t been down for writing NFL articles throughout the duration of this lockout. I figure if they can’t get it in their minds to care about me as a fan by having their product available, I’m not going to take a lot of time out of my own schedule to pay them much attention either (I know it’s bigger than that. I’m definitely speaking at ownership instead of the players). However, in the last week or so, it’s been made clear that some handshakes will be doled out from management to employees, so there will be some football to watch this year. This is awesome, because I literally don’t know what I was supposed to do for the 17 Sundays this winter that I zone out from 10 in the morning until after the first SportsCenter/NFL Live doubleheader that pops up on TV some 12 hours later.

Goodell and Smith shaking hands on a NFL return will bring a whole new plate of old issues back...

However, as I’ve started to accept (while not quite celebrate yet) this happening in the works, it dawned on me that while I’m excited that the game is coming back, I’m now re-inheriting a whole new set of issues that come back with the game getting back established, and a few new ones as well…and I’m not alone. For with the joy that comes with the removal of a football-less year, the issues of the pain that comes with rooting for some of our teams re-emerges. Thus is the price of fanhood, but it’s worth noting that only a few fan bases should really be excited that their teams are taking back to the field.

Read more at Suite101: The NFL Lockout is almost done…but is this a good thing? | Suite101.com http://www.suite101.com/content/the-nfl-lockout-is-almost-donebut-is-this-a-good-thing-a380550#ixzz1SfXz88G8

Leave a Reply

